Ben Norris


Ben Norris hails from Perth and studied in Glasgow (RSAMD - junior) and London (RCM). Ben has a busy and diverse performing schedule, ranging from solo and chamber work to playing as part numerous orchestras. Recent solo highlights have included Tchaikovsky concerto (Perth Symphony Orchestra), Bruch’s Scottish Fantasy (Tayside Symphony Orchestra), Piazzolla’s “Estaciones PorteƱas” (Ruthven Festival), as well as regular appearances as director and soloist with London Concertante in a wide range of repertoire.

Ben leads the Glasgow based Brodick Quartet, and has held a position in the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra since 2015. He also regularly appears with the SCO, RSNO and Dunedin Consort.

When not playing the violin, Ben is a keen hillwalker and rock climber, having almost completed the munros.

Ben plays violins by Neil Ertz (2015) and David Rubio (1990) and bows by Martin Devillers and Jutta Walcher.

Latest News

GNME at PLUG 2019 | Featuring Richard Baker and Phillip Venebles
Published 25 March 2019
Performance 10 May 2019 at Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
GNME at Sound Thought: SIGNAL (2018)
Published 22 October 2018
Performance 17 November 2018 at Centre for Contemporary Arts, Glasgow